Question: Following their second stroke on a hole, a blind shot onto a putting green, the player cannot find their ball within the 5 minutes permitted for search. They return to where they played from and put another ball into play, taking a further 3 strokes to hole out, at which time they discover their original ball is in the hole. What is their score for the hole?
The Answer is below, but do not scroll down until you have pondered a moment!
a) 2. Rules Decision 1-1/2. The play of the hole was completed when the player holed the original ball